LifeSpan in NSW

Funded by the Paul Ramsay Foundation and with the support of the NSW Government and the NSW Mental Health Commission, LifeSpan is being delivered and comprehensively evaluated in four NSW sites. This follows a rigorous selection process that was undertaken to select sites on the basis of need, community and stakeholder readiness and capacity.

Site / (Local Government Area) Lead agency Project commencement date
Hunter New England LHD in partnership with Hunter New England Central Coast PHN, Hunter Primary Care, Calvary Ltd and Hunter Institute of Mental Health. October 2016
Illawarra Shoalhaven
(Wollongong, Shellharbour, Kiama and Shoalhaven)
Coordinare – the
South East NSW  PHN
February 2017
Central Coast
(Gosford & Wyong)
Central Coast LHD May 2017
(Bland, Cootamundra, Griffith, Hay, Junee, Leeton, Tumut Shire, Wagga Wagga, Young)
Murrumbidgee PHN September 2017

LifeSpan will be implemented using a staged roll out with each of the four sites supported to implement LifeSpan over a 2.5 year period. During the delivery phase, all participating sites will be required to simultaneously implement all nine strategies and recommendations. Key project components include:

Establishment of locally based, multi-agency suicide prevention group / network / consortium

Engagement with Lived Experience through a clear framework led by

Suicide audit of local data and review of services

Development and implementation of a multi-sectorial integrated suicide prevention plan

Implementation of change management, enhancements, new activities and interventions

Comprehensive scientific evaluation